Concert (5 March 2024): Bruno Mars

Back in 2022, during Billie Eilish’s concert at the National Stadium, I was sitting in the expensive seats in the house, but I felt that the standing crowd was having all the fun. I made a vow that fateful night that the next big act to grace the stadium, I would be among the standing fans. Actually, it was my wifey who needed the convincing and after Bruno Mars’ gig she is definitely sold on the standing pen. My lovely dear gal was partying like it’s 1999!

I missed Bruno Mars previous gig in 2018 because I wasn’t a big fan then. Sure, I liked his first 2 albums and he does know how to write a pop ditty with an infectious melody that will stick in your brain, but my first rule of concerts is you must love the music, like doesn’t cut it. Then it started to happen… when his third album 24K Magic dropped I was a goner. It was such an effervescent album to listen to and the Bobby Brown and Babyface influences are unmistakable. In fact, it was impossible to just listen to it, my toes would tap, my head would bob and my lips would mouth the lyrics. The music is so retro but Mars gives that dated music a new sheen with pop, R&B, funk, soul, reggae, disco and rock influences coming in from every direction. Then in 2021, An Evening with Silk Sonic dropped and I signed on the “fans forever” name list. A collaboration between Bruno Mars and Anderson.Paak, the album is so sexy and adventurous, it takes the genesis which started in 24K Magic to the stratosphere with musicianship on a whole new level. So when this concert was announced I took about 0.24 of a second to make a decision and thank goodness the process of buying tickets wasn’t as painful as Taylor Swift’s.

Bruno Mars and The Hooligans took to the stage at 8.20pm to thunderous applause and launched into “24K Magic” with strategic pyrotechnics exploding at precise timings. The high energy was established and Mars would never go down more than a couple of notches even with the slow jams.

I loved watching the synched dance choreography with the band members. It was such a joy to see such slick moves and Mars does move like Michael Jackson at times. To compare Mars to MJ is to Mars’ credit. He was so weightless and frictionless as he weaved around the stage.

I never enjoy gigs where the artiste doesn’t change up the songs and reproduce the repertoire of songs exactly like how they sounded in the studios. Not here man, Mars does an amazing job giving the familiar songs a fresh coat of shimmery. I particularly love listening to “Calling All My Lovelies” and “Versace on the Floor”.

I also have to give a big shoutout to the brilliant piano medley where Mars sang songs that he has written or collaborated on for other artistes. The songs here were short snippets but you should listen to the choruses by the crowd, it was spine-tingling. He even teased the audience with Silk Sonic’s “Leave the Door Open” and I went wild for a while.

The evening ended with “Just the Way You Are”, followed by an encore of “Uptown Funk”. It was a helluva show and Mars should be experienced as a live act. I just read news that he will be touring as Silk Sonic late this year. Oh my goodness… Just take my money already.

The setlist for the night:

1 24K Magic

2 Finesse

3 Treasure

4 Liquor Store Blues / Billionaire

5 Perm

6 Calling All My Lovelies

7 That’s What I Like / Wake Up in the Sky / Please Me

8 Guitar & Saxophone Solo

9 Versace on the Floor

10 It Will Rain

11 Marry You

12 Drum Solo

13 Runaway Baby

14 Fuck You / Young, Wild and Free / Grenade / Talking to the Moon / Nothin’ on You / Leave the Door Open

15 When I Was Your Man

16 Piano Solo (Singapore NDP song, Home)

17 Locked Out of Heaven

18 Just the Way You Are

Encore:

1 Uptown Funk (Mark Ronson cover)

Leave a comment